How Office Market Watch is assembled
Last reviewed: 14 September 2026
Office Market Watch helps occupiers start their search earlier and compare publicly marketed Guernsey office options in one place. It supports the work of appointed commercial agents; it does not replace an agent, negotiate property terms or claim to be the legal source of availability.
Source checking
Configured agent sources are checked by separate source-specific collectors. A public update is only promoted after every required source completes, the evidence is within the freshness standard and the combined market view passes validation. The date shown on the dashboard is the age of the oldest required source evidence, not the date on which a previous report happened to be republished.
The scheduled review is weekly, normally on Monday. Verified corrections may be published between scheduled runs. “Last checked” means the latest successful source verification used for that published listing; it is not a guarantee that the source agent has made no subsequent change.
Grouping and totals
Where the same suite is marketed by more than one agent, conservative matching groups the adverts so the headline availability is not counted twice. Lower-confidence matches remain separate or are flagged for review. Building-wide and floor-specific availability are checked before headline totals are calculated.
Publicly marketed supply is not the same as physically vacant space. It may include occupied space being offered by sublease, assignments, future-dated availability and landlord-led new leases. Where confirmed, the detail view identifies the offer route and whether the instruction is landlord- or tenant-led.
Availability timing
The website leads with space marketed as available now, excluding under offer. Future-dated or explicitly deferred space, and under-offer space across all dates have separate totals. Total marketed space tracked deducts evidenced overlap between current suites and future refurbishment opportunities. Available now does not certify that premises are vacant or ready for occupation; exact terms and readiness remain subject to agent confirmation.
Mixed buildings are split by floor only when the evidenced areas reconcile to the counted listing area. The same listing can appear in more than one timing filter without creating additional listing IDs or double-counting its area. Future opportunities retain their advertised date or date range. Lease breaks and expiries are not availability dates, and an advertised delivery date passing does not prove that works have completed: the timing then needs reconfirmation. Normal agreement of lease terms is available-now marketing; an existing tenant needing to vacate is future availability, even if the exact date is not stated.
Trafalgar Court contributes 81,624 sq ft to Future dated. Its current suites remain available now; 10,734 sq ft of evidenced overlap is deducted once from total marketed space tracked. The separate 401 sq ft lobby instruction has no evidenced overlap and remains counted. Positioning, agent and transaction breakdowns cover individual instructions; the timing totals and overall total include future schemes. The timing breakdown was introduced on 14 September 2026. Historical reports and market-movement comparisons retain their existing total-marketed-area basis; reclassification is not a withdrawal.
On 14 September 2026, The Coach House was assumed available now because its advertised summer 2026 window had passed. 28 Cornet Street was assumed available for freehold purchase because its marketing did not state an existing tenancy. These editorial assumptions are disclosed in the listing details and yield to newer published timing; they are not independent confirmation of vacant possession.
Prime, secondary and tertiary positioning
Positioning is a market-reading aid, not an agent or landlord valuation. It considers source wording, specification, building quality, natural light, amenity, condition and location. A central address alone does not make an office Prime. Explicitly reviewed classifications take precedence over automated signals, and grey-area properties remain conservatively classified until evidence supports a change.
Stock baselines and historic rent bands come from the Office Quality Audit evidence identified on the market context panel. Current quoting evidence is labelled separately—for example D2 Real Estate’s 2026 review of landmark Prime rents—so historic quality bands are not presented as today’s quoting guidance.
Terms, images and agent attribution
Availability, measurements, rent, service charge, condition, incentives and transaction terms remain subject to confirmation with the appointed agent or landlord. Source links and agent attribution are retained where available. Rich source content is governed by a per-agent permission register before wider public release.
Separate landlord and tenant instructions are not treated as interchangeable. Source links remain attached to the relevant route so an occupier can approach the correct instructed agent.
Corrections
Agents, landlords and occupiers can suggest an update through the contact form. POS aims to acknowledge and assess corrections or removal requests within two business days, while preserving an audit trail of the evidence and decision.
An invited participating agent may also submit constrained factual changes for its own source listings. Each change is stored as a proposal against the source-listing version reviewed by the agent. POS reviews fields individually; only approved, current proposals can enter the publication pipeline, and a later source change creates a conflict for review rather than being silently overwritten. POS's final reviewed public corrections take precedence. Classification, counting, canonical grouping, removal requests and map-pin changes are review requests only and are never changed directly by an agent account.
Participating-agent engagement summaries
Where agreed, reporting uses consent-controlled analytics to aggregate property-detail opens and initiated clicks to an agent's source pages. Clicks are attributed using the clicked agent link and a stable source- listing identifier where available. The figures may count repeat interactions, exclude visitors without analytics consent and be reduced by blockers or browser controls. A click is not proof that the destination loaded or that an enquiry or transaction followed.
Reports are listing-level aggregates only. They exclude names, email addresses, enquiry content, shortlist selections, user and session identifiers and other personal data. Low-volume or unreliable figures may be suppressed or marked unavailable.
What POS adds
POS uses the market view to help occupiers test whether options fit the brief, likely budget, programme and workplace requirements before time is committed to viewings or negotiations. POS project showcases are labelled separately from agent-sourced availability.